Reviews

9.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.7
Comfort
9.7
Property location
9.1
Facilities
9.5
Staff
9.8
Value
8.8

Reviews

    us

    Review score

    8.8
    17 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    MARILENA
    cy

    Review score

    8.8
    17 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Wiig
    nz

    Review score

    7.9
    3 June 2018
    Everything was very clean but it felt quite dated. The towels were pretty threadbare! But the beds on the floor were surprisingly comfortable and the rooms very spacious.
    The staff were amazing, the food was a true Japanese experience, and the osens were lovely. We came away feeling like we’d had a really authentic traditional Japanese experience. Location close to the train station was great because we were only in Hakone for one night. We were glad we got a ya I because there is a bit of a steep hill to get there.
    DANA
    ro

    Review score

    9.6
    10 April 2018

    Great traditional experience!

    If you have big luggage, you should know the ryokan is not so easy to get to from the train station. And it is up the hill. (From the ryokan to the train station it's easy...). The staff does not speak English, so the "hand" language and a good translate app would help :)
    The experience of staying in a ryokan, of having a traditional dinner, of having a hot spring inside, was great! I was there for my Birthday. They even gave me a present, it was a very nice surprise! Ryokan and Fuji - a wonderful combination.
    Xiaoyi
    cn

    Review score

    10
    5 November 2017
    We really enjoyed our stay in 玉庭, authentic traditional Japanese hotel and food! Clean room, warm spring... And Etsuko (Idk if the spell's right) was nice and helpful, we would never forget this trip, thank you
    gb

    Review score

    5.0
    30 October 2017

    Disappointing for the money

    The staff were rude. There was no apology made when our credit cards (multiple accounts) were incorrectly processed multiple times and no communication of what was happening. During the stay, we were constantly on edge regarding when people would come in or what the ‘dinner practice’ would be - one dish would come then an inconsistent time would pass and someone would appear from outside our closed dining room. It was all a little anexity inducing. The lack of staff’s English seemed quaint to begin with but for the money you are paying, it was far from what we would expect. Overall, it felt like you were at mercy to their timetable, with no communication of expectations.
    The location and grounds were excellent - a very pretty venue
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    22 May 2017

    Excellent option for first-time authentic Japanese Ryokan experience

    Our private onsen was broken in the morning and because the check out time was at 11 a.m., we had to rush. (Yet the hotel tried their best to help us fix the problem which was very nice!)
    I loved almost every little thing at Gyokutei. I am really glad we chose Gyokutei as the place to have our first Ryokan experience. The staff were super sweet and the food was awesome! the natural hot spring water felt really nice and because the place was not big at all (five suites at most?), I felt more like a private onsen when I went to the public hot spring bath. Would highly recommend this place to anyone who's looking for an authentic Japanese Ryokan experience.
    Singapore Family 1st trip to Japan
    sg

    Review score

    9.6
    18 April 2017

    Making Memories in an Authentic Ryokan

    This Ryokan is like stepping back in time so if you like modern then this is not for you.
    An authentic Japanese experience with the most delightful team hosting, We saved up for this experience & loved it, The food was so interesting & unusual & the kids meal was perfect for our son.
    Stephan
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    15 December 2016

    Unique Ryokan experience

    We had a wonderful stay in this superbly neat and meticulously run Ryokan. We enjoyed a lot the spacious traditional Japanese apartment with indoor hot spring bath, 7 course Kaiseki dinner and Japanese breakfast with a splendid view at the traditional style garden. Also a special thanks to the staff who are super friendly and helpful !
    Shin Chun
    sg

    Review score

    9.6
    27 September 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Robert
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    5 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marcus Woo
    tw

    Review score

    10
    25 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ca

    Review score

    10
    27 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Weifang
    us

    Review score

    10
    24 November 2017

    The staffs were amazingly helpful and polite

    Lee-Hwa
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    11 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    th

    Review score

    10
    20 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review score

    5.0
    11 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Adriana_de_las_Nieves
    us

    Review score

    7.1
    15 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Yangyang Zhao
    us

    Review score

    10
    19 April 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Grace
    us

    Review score

    10
    6 December 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.